Nielsen expands advertising measurement on YouTube’s mobile app in Hong Kong

Nielsen has expanded its advertising measurement on YouTube’s mobile app with Nielsen Digital Ad Ratings to 26 additional countries and regions, including Hong Kong.

With this expansion, its Digital Ad Ratings clients will have access to age and gender demographics for consumers viewing advertising on the YouTube mobile app, as well as reach, frequency and gross rating points, according to Nielsen.

Now available in 34 countries and regions, this service builds on Nielsen’s current measurement coverage of YouTube ads on desktop and mobile web browsers to provide marketers independent and comprehensive cross-device measurement of advertising audiences on YouTube across computer and mobile devices.

According to Nielsen, the measurement of YouTube ads uses a consistent methodology with all other mobile publishers in Digital Ad Ratings, which allows both media buyers and sellers to leverage comparable and de-duplicated persons-based measurement across publishers in their media planning and execution, and to gain a deeper understanding of their audiences across YouTube.

“The expanded capability of Digital Ad Ratings to measure YouTube mobile in-app advertising showcases Nielsen’s commitment to provide our clients with the most comprehensive third-party measurement across all publishers and platforms,” said Clare Lui, vice-president of media at Nielsen Hong Kong.

“This has significance as YouTube accounts for a large share of mobile video advertising in the markets involved, including Hong Kong.”   

Measurement of Digital Ad Ratings for YouTube’s mobile app was made available in the US in June 2017, in Canada and Japan in October 2017, in the UK, France and Germany in January 2018, and in Australia and Italy on 1 September, 2018.

The latest 26 additional countries and regions are: Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Puerto Rico, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey and The United Arab Emirates.