SUBSCRIBE: Free email newsletter

Marketing

Toggle

Article

Facebook to let users delete messages within 10 minutes

Facebook Messenger is now allowing users to remove their messages within 10 minutes of sending, joining the ranks of messaging apps like WhatsApp with such a feature. This was announced on 5 February 2019 on Messenger’s Facebook page and newsroom.

To remove a message, users need to to tap on to what they have sent and select one the two options – “Remove for Everyone” or “Remove for You”.  If the former was chosen, the message will be replaced by text alerting everyone in the conversation the message was removed.

Most recently, news broke that Facebook was looking to consolidate its Instagram, Messenger and WhatsApp function under one product. According to an article first published on The New York Times, the services will continue to operate as stand-alone apps but the tech infrastructure will be unified, which will of course strengthen Facebook’s understanding of users.

The article added that the merger of sorts is set to complete by early 2020. Facebook also told New York Times that it was aiming to build “the best messaging experiences” and was working to make the messaging apps “end-to-end encrypted” and considering ways to make it easier to reach friends and family across networks.

Read More News

Trending