11 global alcohol and beverage brands to drive new digital marketing standards

11 global companies in the alcohol and beverage industry have signed an agreement to further commit in developing new robust and responsible marketing standards for digital channels. The brands are Anheuser-Busch InBev, Asahi, Bacardi, Beam Suntory, Brown-Forman, Carlsberg, Diageo, Heineken, Kirin Holdings, Molson Coors and Pernod Ricard.

The new standards will be developed in collaboration with internal marketers, agencies and social media companies, according to a press release by the International Alliance for Responsible Drinking (IARD). It also responds to the changing interactions brands have with customers on digital channels.

“Although we have achieved significant progress in strengthening and expanding marketing codes of practice, digital media presents evolving opportunities with improved consumer insights, better data and technology,” the joint statement read.

The move also looks to reassure consumers that the companies will only direct its advertising to adults who are able to lawfully buy their products. It follows a recent agreement of the 11 brands to run campaigns which aim to prevent harmful and underaged drinking. The new standards will also reflect best-practices in a rapidly changing marketing landscape.

“As the CEOs of the leading beer, wine and spirits producers, we are stewards of many of the world's most popular brands and we are proud employers who take this obligation seriously. That is why we are determined to continue to work collectively to make a real difference and set and live up to high standards of responsibility for our industry,” a joint statement added.

Here are the CEOs which signed the agreement:

  • Carlos Brito, CEO of Anheuser-Busch InBev
  • Alexandre Ricard, CEO of Pernod Ricard
  • Cees 't Hart, president and CEO, Carlsberg Group
  • Naoki Izumiya, chief executive, Asahi Group
  • Ivan Menezes, chief executive, Diageo
  • Mike Dolan, chief executive, Bacardi Limited
  • Jean-Francois Van Boxmeer, chief executive, Heineken
  • Matt Shattock, chief executive, Beam Suntory
  • Yoshinori Isozaki, chief executive, Kirin Holdings Company
  • Paul Varga, chief executive, Brown-Forman
  • Mark Hunter, chief executive, Molson Coors

Marketing has reached out to IARD for additional comment.

(Photo courtesy: 123rf)