Council of PR Firms names young PR stars

Disha Widge, an account executive at FleishmanHillard Hong Kong, has been named this year's Young Professional winner at the PR industry's annual competition to recognise emerging talent.

Now in its sixth year, the annual competition is organised by the Council of PR Firms of Hong Kong (CPRFHK) and celebrates the best of Hong Kong’s young PR community.

This year, the competition brief challenged entrants to develop a six-month creative, integrated public relations plan to promote a fictional government campaign to build pride in and celebrate the best things about Hong Kong, targeting Hong Kong citizens.

Disha Widge walked away with a HK$10,000 cash prize and a place on the CPRFHK board as the young professionals representative for the 2016/2017 council year.

Sai Roshini Daswani, assistant account director at Sinclair Communications was named runner-up in the ‘Young Professional’ category.

In the student category Heidi Wong, of Chinese University of Hong Kong was named winner, while Adrian Wong from Hong Kong Shue Yan University was named runner-up. Wong received a HK$5,000 cash prize and an internship opportunity organised by CPRFHK.

Robert T. Grieves, chairman of CPRFHK said, the number of excellent entries received was inspiring.

"Both of our winning contestants delivered creative, multi-dimensional proposals based on clear insights and sound strategy that were thorough and well thought out."